Souper Bowl of Caring…and a bike ride

Yesterday morning, very early morning, Holly & I volunteered to assist in answering phones to take in donations from the public for the Souper Bowl of Caring that’s taking place in Houston, TX. We found out that $1 can provide three meals to the needy, thanks to the Houston Food Bank.

In the picture below, Holly (far right) is taking calls along with her sister-in-law, Anya (2nd from right). In the background, a news anchor is interviewing Houston Texans President, Jamey Rootes; the Houston Texans are the largest supporter of the Houston Food Bank…good on them.Image

After our early morning of answering the phones we grabbed a quick brunch with Anya, then parted ways.

I was able to get out in the afternoon for a four hour bike ride! I’ve been exploring the back roads of Pearland, TX, which is just 10 miles south of Houston. The traffic is light and the roads are pancake flat around Pearland, but the wind gave me a fight at times. I ended up riding 73 miles, and was very thankful for the ~6 miles of tailwind on the way back to the truck.

I’ve had a great time riding easy, racking up the base miles and taking in the “scenery.” Yesterday I encountered two cows that had escaped their pasture, they were meandering down the country road eating the green grass, which probably enticed them to escape in the first place. I also came across a turtle crossing the road, I circled back to help the little guy across quickly before getting squashed…despite my assistance, he wasn’t pleased at all when I grabbed his shell and carried him across to the other side of the road…cranky critter!

Another thing that made my jaw drop was a rural subdivision of ~10 homes that all shared their own airplane landing strip…how quaint!

One thing’s for sure, everything’s bigger in Texas.

– E

Comments
5 Responses to “Souper Bowl of Caring…and a bike ride”
  1. Amelia says:

    Sounds like you are having a great time! Watch out for the turtles when you get to Florida (and other states, I’m sure). We have alligator snapping turtles that REALLY don’t appreciate the help and are known to take off chunks of Good Samaratin fingers. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • mrericnewman says:

      Thanks for the heads-up ๐Ÿ™‚ we have snapping turtles in I Diana as well, fortunately, I’m aware of what they look like…I’ll keep my distance.

  2. Caron Leader says:

    Sounds very interesting. Enjoyed reading your blog.

  3. Very cool! And kudos to you and Holly for doing such a great thing ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Dan Loehr says:

    This stuff is good for the soul!!!

Leave a Reply

